Picture by 2022 Getty Images
USA Basketball announced the women’s team headed to Paris 2024, and the roster includes soon-to-be six-time Olympian Diana Taurasi, two-time WNBA MVPs A’ja Wilson and Breanna Stewart, and two-time Olympic gold medalist Brittney Griner. These women will try to win an unprecedented eighth gold medal in a row, with a streak reaching back the Olympic Games Atlanta 1996.

Taurasi, Wilson, Stewart and Griner will be joined by Alyssa Thomas, Napheesa Collier, Jewell Loyd, Kelsey Plum, Jackie Young, Sabrina Ionescu, Chelsea Gray and Kahleah Copper. It’s a credentialed and experienced team with plenty of international basketball experience. Only Ionescu, Thomas and Copper are making their Olympic debuts, and all three played on the 2022 FIBA World Cup team that won gold.

The team will be coached by Cheryl Reeve, who has won four WNBA championships with the Minneosta Lynx. She will be assisted by Duke coach Kara Lawson, who won gold playing for Team USA at the Olympic Games Beijing 2008; Texas A&M coach Joni Taylor, and Washington Mystics general manager and past coach Mike Thibault.

As National Olympic Committees have the exclusive authority for the representation of their respective countries at the Olympic Games, athletes’ participation at the Paris Games depends on their NOC selecting them to represent their delegation at Paris 2024.